Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – Pilot

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. started out with a bang. We saw J.August Richards as Mike Peterson save a woman from an exploding building. It was a great start to a show. It also introduced the idea of what is going to go on with the show. We will be facing unusual circumstances with a crew of people with varying skills.

Each of these characters were introduced one by one. The introductions were a little bit clunky, but that comes with the territory of character introductions. To S.H.I.E.L.D.’s advantage each of the characters are intriguing. You want to see more of them and finally get to see what they are truly capable. The only character on the team that was introduced with a skill was Ward. A dreamy guy, but I still somewhat believe that he could do some serious butt kicking.

I went into the show with a true excitement over Ming Na Wen’s character of Melinda May. I was not disappointed. She is a veteran in ops, but what happened in the past is still a mystery. She proves herself as a very capable agent throughout the episode.  The delicate touch of Whedon’s character creation is clear in this episode.

While May delivered on everything I hoped with her character, Fitz and Simmons were a lovely British surprise. How I didn’t realize that they were British before the show air was beyond me. but it was their playful hectic banter that pulled me in. They are the gadget duo and if the dwarf drones are any indication of the type of gadgets they will pull out, I won’t be let down with the tech the show features.

The pace of the show was on point. From beginning to end, I didn’t feel the down beats. I suspect that if I wasn’t subjected to the commercials, I would have been even more satisfied. The beats were perfectly timed and we moved from one moment to the next without any filler scenes or anything to drag down the narrative. If the episodes that follow have the same pace, I’ll be a happy camper.

I’ll end with how happy I was for the inclusion of other elements of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. (If this show lasts, they are going to find a name more suited for their universe. Especially if the Peggy Carter show comes to fruition.) I’m not sure where in the timeline of events this episode happened, but we know it was some time after the Battle of New York. Including Extremis into the plot line was exciting. Getting to see the threads from the movies tying into the show brings all sorts of possibilities. With Marvel’s release schedules. I wouldn’t be surprised if big events, such as season finales were also tied to the films. Feige and Whedon have some master plan and they are executing it well and I don’t mind coming along for the ride.

What did you think of the pilot of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.?

3 thoughts on “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – Pilot

  1. Pingback: About September 2013 Roundup | So, I pondered...

  2. Pingback: Agents of SHIELD – Eye Spy | So, I pondered...

Leave a Reply

