I’m A Writer Damn It!

I am a writer. No, I have yet to publish anything. No, I don’t yet have an agent. But none of that matters because I am a writer regardless. I spend hours upon hours crafting an outline. I spend day after day writing a novel and then when it’s done. I spend weeks editing until the story is solid. I write thus I am a writer. It is because I am not published that I know I can always learn more.

Write More
leronebennettThe easiest way to learn more about writing is to do exactly that. The more that I write the more natural things feels. Each story I write gets better. It gets better because I writing so much and finding which things work and which don’t. I allow myself to continually progress as a writer. I’m going to write constantly whether people like it or not. Guess what? Writing allows me to be creative and let out steam that builds up inside me. Every time I start typing, I feel myself getting better and getting closer to my dream. Yes, it may stay a dream for the rest of my life, but I’m going to keep trying. That means I need to keep writing no matter what.

Read More
A lot of people will tell you that you need to read to write. They will tell you that the more you read the more you know your genre, the more you know your market. They will also tell you that the more you read the more you will learn how to write. They say you end up analyzing the stories you like, finding what works and what doesn’t. I’m not one of those people. Yes, I have found myself noticing more awkward sentences and when a story drags me in by the teeth. However, I don’t read to analyze. I read to enjoy. I read to find stories and twists that catch my interest. I read more because I can experience more stories and draw inspiration from more places.

Be A Writer More
I write every day. Literally. Either I’m working on a novel or I’m writing this blog. I’m always doing something to flex my muscles. I make myself write to make what I tell more readable. I read and watch so I can learn from mistakes in stories. Watching TV and all the different shows I review here, gives me the opportunity to flex my analytical muscles. The better I become at identifying flaws in stories, the better I become at editing my own stories. More importantly, I start to realize when a story I’ve created actually feels good. I get my story on point. I become a better writer.

I know I’m young. There’s a good chance that I will have another 60 years to get this whole writing thing under way. Personally I would like to get there a bit sooner. That said, I don’t have to worry about much, my goal of being a writer is complete. I’ve completed multiple novels, some of which will never see the light of day. I’ve edited and slaved and no one in the world can tell me that I’m not a writer. I have the proof. Now, my next goal is to get people to like what I write. Honestly, I don’t need to become a beloved writer like J.K. Rowling or Toni Morrison. I just want a handful of people to like what I’ve worked so hard to accomplish. Hopefully, one day I will be able to say that is true.

2 thoughts on “I’m A Writer Damn It!

Leave a Reply

