Reading Addiction

Guys, I’ve touched on this issue before, but it’s really rearing it’s ugly head lately. I have a problem. Well, some people wouldn’t think it a problem, but I like to face things as they are. I have a goal of 100 books in a year. That averages out to around a book every 3.6 days. Somehow I’m on track so far. All I want to do is read. I read during my lunch break. I read every night.

It’s not like reading is bad. It’s amazing. When I pick up a book I get to step into a new reality. I get to experience new things and let my mind wander. I get caught up in stories and embrace characters. The fact that these books are capable of eliciting a high and make me feel excited is something that never ceases to amaze me. These are fictional stories that make me exclaim and shout.

One of the things I’ve noticed recently is that I don’t seem to read series consecutively. Even if I’m completely in love with a story and desperately want to read on I won’t. For example, I read Scarlet, while I had a copy of Cress sitting on my bookcase. I could have finished Scarlet and immediately jump into Cress, but I wanted to draw it out. I want to drag the series as long as I possibly could. The result, I still haven’t read Cress. I’ve held off for the time being instead jumping in an starting other series.

Recently I’ve been picking up all sorts of other genres. This switch is largely because I’m writing a YA contemporary, but I’m finding myself drawn to more YA contemporaries. So now my TBR list has blossomed. It’s a massive list that rivals all my other lists. An endless amount of books I want to read, but just don’t have the time. At least not yet.

All of this warring thoughts have got me thinking. I may start a new blog entirely devoted to books and leave this blog focused on Writing, TV, and Movies. The new blog will just be about celebrating books. Short posts about upcoming books I’m excited about, books I buy, thoughts on books, thoughts on recurring themes, book specific posts, and maybe even book reviews. The point will be to uplift books I enjoy whether they are new or old. I think it might be fun. Hopefully, some of you will come along to this new blog. I should have it up and running by the end of the month. If that is something you would be interested in, I’ll let you all know when that is ready.

One thought on “Reading Addiction

Leave a Reply

