Splintered by A.G. Howard


splinteredx1Splintered by A.G. Howard

My rating: 3.75 of 5 stars

This is really more like a 3.5 or 3.75.

I really enjoyed Splintered. I think this is mainly because rather than being a retelling of the same story, it as actually a new addition to the original story. It twisted the truths from Alice’s story and made the story uniquely Alyssa’s.

Alyssa for the most part is a positively delightful character. She’s a bit spunky, a bit artsy, and mostly real. It isn’t hard to relate to her and feel for her situation. That said there were a few things that irritated me. Every so often, Alyssa would do something that felt very out of character. For example she started a very strange gyrating dance when her inhibitions were loosened. It was explained away ultimately as her darker side, but I never believed it. Her actions when she had this darker side just didn’t seem to make sense.

One of my bigger problems with the novel was Jeb. He was meant to be this great guy. The rough boy next door that was just a sweet guy. Someone who liked to protect the women he cared about. That on the surface is not an issue. My real problem was with how he treated Alyssa. Yes, by the end he came to realize that Alyssa could take care of herself and didn’t need his help. It was his forceful behavior and coddling of Alyssa that got under my skin. This behavior repeated again and again until the end. The result was that by the time he realized his behavior wasn’t all that appealing, I had already lost my adoration from him. That made it harder to ship that relationship.

Morpheus on the other hand was a ridiculous good time. The fact that he was filled with lies and played people like a fiddle, I was still drawn to his character. It had something to do with his charm. It simply oozed out of his fiber. It was made his lies bearable. It also helped that Morpheus always believed in Alyssa. There was never a doubt in his mind that she would succeed at the tasks placed before her and do the right thing. I desperately wanted more Morpheus.

As for the twist at the end of the novel, it wasn’t surprising. For as much as Alyssa went on and on about her family curse the reality of what was to happen was spelled out early in the novel. It was explicitly stated, yet Alyssa couldn’t seem to piece the little, but clear, information she had together. The reveal thus had no impact to me, especially since it was slowly confirmed through the rest of the novel. I just wish it wasn’t teased so long and was confirmed earlier because it made Alyssa come off as dim and single minded.

While, I didn’t fall in love with the novel. I did really enjoy it and at the end of the day that is all that matters.

View all my reviews
Feel free to friend me on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

