Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

unbreakablekimmyschmidtx2I debated for a while about whether I was going to take the leap ad actually talk about Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, but as you can see I’ve finally settled ton getting out some of my thoughts about the show. On the surface, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt is a new show starring Ellie Kemper from the mind of Tina Fey. It is about a woman who is released after being held in an underground bunker for 15 years and now lives in New York. A lot of people have said that it has a similar style of humor to 30 Rock, but having never gotten into it I can’t confirm. What I do know is that Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt took a while to grow on me, but by the end I really enjoyed it. It’s a smart comedy that isn’t afraid to be ridiculous.

One of the things I’m almost positive is influencing my feelings on the series is that infectious theme song. No matter how much I tried to get it out of my head, I couldn’t. I loved the the song as it stuck unpleasantly in my head. Again and again I heard it, until I finally sat down and binged the rest of the season. Clearly, I’m not the only one as a number of sites have articles about how that theme song is an earworm. For me it was effective in getting me to sit down and watch a show that I didn’t find laugh out loud funny.

Ellie Kemper brings Kimmy Schmidt to life in the best way possible. She’s bubbly and enthusiastic, yet despite living in a bunker for so long she’s pretty sharp on her feet. This is a world that is vaguely unfamiliar to her, but she takes it by the balls and plows forward. However, that doesn’t mean she doesn’t slip into some very awkward situations as she just isn’t quite up to date on things like technology. It was hard for me not to like her because she looked at life so positively, yet wasn’t a fool to reality. She simply took everything in stride.

unbreakablekimmyschmidtx3The one thing that I noticed was the in and out of characters. When a show comes on network TV, like this was originally going to, cast transitions are often a bit more subtle. Especially if a character isn’t making the impact as originally intended, they just fade away. Netflix however not only allows, but encourages binging. The result was there were a couple of characters who were introduced and then written out as the series progressed further. The most notable one was Kimmy’s brief boyfriend and Buckley’s tutor. After the little confusion with Kimmy he simply was gone. In fact, over a span of 13 episodes, Kimmy had three love interests and that’s not including an old man she went on a date with.

While I loved Ki Hong Lee as Dong (he was hilarious and very sweet) and he was almost the breakout hit of the show for me, Jon Hamm as the Reverend stole the show. From the moment he appeared, he brought everything he had. Though his parts were relegated to a couple of episodes, each appearance was gold. He was so funny I found myself for the first time laughing out loud consistently on the show. Honestly, if he and Dong weren’t in the show, it probably would have been a big meh to me. Not bad, but not the amazing comedy that I’d hoped it would be. The last few episodes completely changed to tepid indifference to the point that I can’t wait to see the next season.

What did you think of the show?

Leave a Reply

