I’m Going To Query Again

I need to push forward.

Writing is hard, but trying to get someone to buy into is even harder. More importantly it’s scary. It’s downright terrifying putting yourself out there.

But I have reached a crossroads. I’m not going to let my fear stop me. From today on out, I’m going into overdrive mode. I’m going to have a novel out there for people to read whether it succeeds or fails, but It’ll happen. As of today, I’m going to begin starting the trail toward that success.

For me that means solidifying my synopsis and query and putting it out there. Putting it out there fast and making sure that people see it. That said, I’ve been working on this novel for two years. This isn’t something I’m just jumping into. It’s something I’m pushing myself to finally finish. The revisions I’m making are small. The story is there, the structure is there. Heck, even the words are there, but I am tightening t make the wording stronger. I’m also changing the gender of a minor character. Other than that, it’s rather mundane and nitpicking. It’s something that I can do if I just sit down and do it.

So, I’m taking away my safety net. I’m not going to cling to a notion that it isn’t perfect yet. I like my story. Actually I love my story. I’ve made it as good as I can. At this point, I’m spinning my wheels trying to change little things that I’m not sure will really make any impact. Yet, I’m changing them because it’s something else that I can do that isn’t putting it out there. I can’t let myself do that anymore.

The only way I will ever be published is if I put myself out there. Sure, I may fail, but I won’t know unless I try.

It’s time for me to brush up that query.

2 thoughts on “I’m Going To Query Again

Leave a Reply

