Jurassic World Review

Jurassic WorldDir. Colin Trevorrow
Release Date: 6/12/2015
Cast: Chris Pratt (Owen), Bryce Dallas Howard (Claire), Vincent D’Onofrio (Hoskins), Ty Simpkins (Gray), Nick Robinson (Zach), Irrfan Kahn (Simon Masrani), Jake Johnson (Lowery), Omar Sy (Barry)

Initial Thoughts
I’ve only watched Jurassic Park. Not 2 or 3. Only the first one. I liked it, but it was never a movie that I was in love with the movie. No. It was merely amusing. I was a kid when the came out. Yet, the call of the dinosaur brought me in. I love dinosaurs. I would totally love if dinosaurs really were genetically engineered. Though I’d appreciate if the lethal, murdery ones were left out. Regardless, I walked in to Jurassic World with no real expectations. As a result, I left completely pleased. it made me feel things and squeal. The characters, for the most part, were fleshed out and I liked the subtle commentary on our society.

Let’s start with the big elephant in the room. There are velociraptors in this movie. They are there and they are kind of amazing. What I really enjoyed about this movie was that they didn’t regard them just as beasts. Repeatedly we were reminded that they are animals. They are more than just, creatures, beasts, or killers. Rather they are creatures that have emotions and through the course of the movie we really got to see that these were creatures with souls and weren’t just beasts. It was an element of the film that I really enjoyed.

image

Another element that I enjoyed was the weaving of the theme throughout the movie. Sure, we haven’t seen a major change in that theme since the first film and in that sense it could be troublesome. However, it was handled in a rather realistic way and one that was done effectively. In case you were wondering that theme was hubris. It was hubris trough brought the disaster upon Jurassic World. This was continued in this movie. Time and time again hubris made situations that were already bad worse. It wasn’t until hubris was cast aside that progress was made. Yet, like real life, hubris is not always stopped. It slips through cracks and that should make for an interesting continuation of the series.

image

Now earlier I mentioned that the characters were fleshed out, that unfortunately doesn’t mean that were perfect. You understood Owens perspective early on and could extend that to Barry. You understood Claire’s relationship with her nephews without much needing to be said. The nephews, Gray and Zach, were interesting additions. While they were a target to be saved, they weren’t incapable which I was glad about. Zach’s behavior did bother me with his wandering eye. Also we were told Zach could be mean to his brother, but we saw him be nothing worse than occasionally nonchalant as his brother geeked over dinosaurs.

Ultimately that ended up being one of the more irritating things about the movie. It often gave too much credence to what a character said. I actually found that the actions portrayed spoke more than enough to inform us about the characters and the world. We knew Claire was distant from her nephews by the way she looked at them with awe, but also with fear and disinterest. Those body language cues were enough, but it was then hammered home with dialogue. This happened a lot, except with the relationship between Owen and his velociraptors.

image

Before I briefly discuss the ending, I wanted to note that for a summer action movie it could have been filled with bad jokes and still been given a pass. I have to comment this movie for not just phoning it in, but actually delivering funny moments. Pratt felt underused, but they did at least give him a few jokes. In stead most jokes fell to Jake Johnson’s Lowery to bring in laughs. I found myself actually at laughing at all his jokes. I was just glad they brought some humor to the screen.

While, I didn’t dislike the ending, I will say that it was rather predictable. Early on the resolution was teased. Anyone well versed in how movies hint at potential outcomes will see it coming as it lacks all subtlety. That said it worked as it became clear that it was the only real option. It likely would have been even more enjoyable if we had a more creative way to solve the problem.

image

Final Thoughts
I really enjoyed this movie. It wasn’t perfect, far from it, but it delivered something that wasn’t too over the top. It made jump, it made me groan, it made me squeak. That is an accomplishment for a movie. Not all can elicit an emotion. I really enjoyed air even if there was no deep meaning. And a few unresolved issues that made me thing. This movie made me care about what was going to happen to both human and dinosaur alike.

Rating: 7.7

What did you think of the movie?

Leave a Reply

