It’s Camp NaNoWriMo Time

While I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo for the past 3 years and intend to this year as well, I’ve never actual dug my feet into Camp Nano. Once I set a goal, but I never joined in. It’s not as though I don’t write in the summer. I’ve just never joined in with the Camp Nano fun. That changes this year.

I’ve had this idea spinning in my head. One that is very different from the other novels that I’ve written. One that sports two female protagonists who are nothing like any characters I’ve ever written before. It’s fantasy, but it’s about friendship and the boundaries one can push. It’s about how relationships and pride can get in the way. It’s exciting and it wants to be written. So I’m caving and plucking the words from my head and transposing them to the page.

I’m not pantsing the story this time, but it’s not outlined either. Instead, I have it all in my thick noggin. I know where the story is going to go. I know some of the early beats and the later beats, but for the most part this is going to be all it’s own thing. It’s exciting to not know my story before I write it. But it’s also a bit of a relief to know where it is going and kind of how it will get there so I don’t get stuck. It should be an interesting journey especially since it isn’t outlined. I have no idea how long it will be. How much I will need to tweak later. The story will be out there though. And it’s kind of thrilling to write something that is nothing like anything I’ve read or anything I’ve heard of. Sure, I could be wrong on this, but based on my experience it is different and that’s going to be fun.

Camp NaNoWriMo is a lot more lax than regul;ar NanoWrimo where you can set your own goal. Anyone who’s followed me in the past knows that I set really high goals for NaNoWriMo. 50K words isn’t hard for me, so I seek to push to write as many words as possible that push my story forward and not mindless stream of consciousness. For Camp Nano I’m going to take it easy too. Rather than trying to write 2 books, I’m going to write one. I’m setting a goal of 85k. If the story ends before that then so be it.

FYI, my user name is ashleyepidemic and I am not part of a cabin, but created my own. If anyone would like to join, let me know. Be warned I don’t really know the point of them.

Are you participating in Camp Nano? What are your goals?

2 thoughts on “It’s Camp NaNoWriMo Time

    • Thanks. I just tend to write very quickly. Honestly, I don’t fully think that goals are entirely necessary in Camp, but I find them useful to keep me on track. I’m highly competitive so it keeps me going. Good luck to you too.

Leave a Reply

