I Suck at Video Games and I Don’t Care

Okay, so I don’t really suck. I’ve played through many games to completion. I generally don’t struggle too hard. I get through most games I like. That said, I’m not going to pretend that I’m good at games. I’m competent. I get through them. I enjoy them and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Many times I see within the gamer community this environment of hostility. If someone is not at the caliber that others want they walk away with an awful experience. A level of competency is required. When something more difficult is being sought after that bar raises.

As you probably figured out, I don’t care if other people think that I suck. Video games were created to be played. There is no exclusive ban on the activity if someone doesn’t play to a certain caliber. There’s no requirement for people to finish games. There’s certainly no requirement for people to do it well.

Yet, there’s this odd elitism that is prevalent within the gaming community. Rather than being inclusive, it seeks to exclude people. It wants to marginalize people that play because they don’t fit the mold of what they want a gamer to be. It’s hostile and aggravating. Honestly, it’s the main reason why I hate playing multiplayer games. I don’t want to jump into a game and be harrassed because I may not be as good as others. And let’s not even get started on the fact that I am a girl.

Actually, yes, let’s do get started on that. Being a female within the gaming community is one of constant frustration. Being identified as a female opens yourself up not to just the hostilities people bestow upon everyone in the community like an unwanted gift, but also to being harassed for happening to be another gender. You often get one or two things, unwanted sexual innuendo and worse getting hit on, or being belittled simply because one is female. Newsflash my not being a perfect player in video games has nothing to do with my gender.

I play games because I like them. I finish them if I like the story and game play. I don’t always and I don’t lose any sleep over it. If anyone has a problem with the fact that I’m a girl, or that I suck at games, I don’t really care because I’m having fun. That’s all that really matters right?

Do you care if you’re good at games?

4 thoughts on “I Suck at Video Games and I Don’t Care

  1. My favourite games are the Lego Wii games, which are “not real games” apparently. I enjoy puzzles like the Professor Layton games and I enjoy some of the Facebook games (Pet Rescue) and Flash games (Escape the Room type for example). And there’s the Pokemon games. Before that, Tomb Raider on the PC. Some action adventure on the earlier platforms (C64, Amiga, showing my age here!). I’m not great at games but I enjoy what I play. I am especially not good at driving games, though I’m pretty good at shooting things. I prefer to play solo or with a friend at their house rather than MMORPG and other online games like Call of Duty. I have heard a lot of good things about Dragon Age and Massive Effect, so maybe one day. On the other hand I’d probably rather play The Sims, which again, I’ve played in the past on older platforms, but haven’t purchased for newer ones.
    Which is to say, I agree, especially with your final paragraph πŸ˜€

    • I love the Lego games, I play them on Playstation and I love trophy hunting with them. They are definitely real games. Anyone who says anything else can suck it. I can’t wait to get my hands on Lego Jurassic World.

      I love Mass Effect. It is a great series that I highly recommend though it is very shooting heavy or power heavy, depending on your loadout and abilities.

  2. I only care on fighting games. Everything else is just for fun. I still have a game that I’ve never beat the final boss in. It’s okay because I had fun getting there. But no, it’s not because I’m a girl, it’s because I’m impatient. On fighting games though, I win the vast majority of the time. πŸ™‚

    • Not being good at fighting games can be frustrating when you are playing people better than you. I’m one of the one who sucks, so you’d def beat me. I still love injustice though.

Leave a Reply

