Favorite Character Tropes (Heroes) – Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey. There is a goodreads group which allows the community to discuss the upcoming topics. If you interested, make sure you go check it out. Usually I put these lists on my youtube channel, but sometimes I put them on the blog. This is one of those weeks. If you want to check out some of my video lists here’s my Top 5 Wednesday playlist.

As you can tell from the title, this week’s topic is Favorite Character Tropes, which is absolutely exciting to me. In case you’ve been lucky and haven’t stumbled upon the time sink that is TVTropes, let me introduce you. It is pretty much a website which chronicles various tropes that appear in fiction, movies, games, and TV (and more). It is an absolutely glorious website that is easy to get lost in. Thus, when this topic was presented I was positively thrilled. I had a legitimate excuse to get caught up in all of the tropes.

So while I will be naming my favorite character tropes you may wonder why I’m not including tropes that pertain to antagonists or side characters. There are a ton of character specific tropes and I don’t think I could narrow down my favorite for all character types, so I took the liberty of doing it just for heroes. Maybe I will do that in the future, for now let’s focus on the heroes.

As always, in no particular order, my top 5 character tropes (heroes).

Tsundere

asukaIn case you don’t know, Tsundere primarily comes from Japanese culture. It is a character who isn’t particularly, mean, but they are rather cold and standoffish upon first meeting them. These characters often remain this way except for sudden outburst that crack through their shell revealing almost a completely opposite caring and embracing personality. Their affections tend to only show themselves to one or two characters, saving their harsh exterior for everyone else. I’ve always really enjoyed these brooding, but sweet underneath characters. The reverse can also be true, characters who are sweet, but will turn mean when necessary or triggered, though I much prefer the characters the other way around.

Example:
Vin from the Mistborn Trilogy
Asuka from Neon Genesis Evangelion
Faye Valentine from Cowboy Bebop

Check out what TV Tropes has to say about them.

Jerk with a Heart of Gold

leviI often like to consider this the bad boy with a good heart. These are the chracters, generally guys, that are quite frankly awful. They aren’t nice and they are often surrounded with an air of danger. Yet, despite those rough edges and naughty tendencies they aren’t such bad people. In fact, they are doing something for someone else or they are just generally sweet under that tough exterior.

Examples:
Rosa Hubermann from The Book Thief
Zaphod from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series
Captain Levi from Attack on Titan

Check out what TV Tropes has to say about them.

Accidental Hero

The Hobbit: An Unexpected JourneyIf you’ve read much fantasy, you’ve certainly encountered the Accidental Hero by now. They are often thrown into something completely out of their element and are forced to cope with their new circumstances. This can be either extremely annoying or rather entertaining to see play out. Generally, I like my accidental heroes to push forward with confidence and not be afraid to make mistakes, but I also like them to think things through. No one likes watching stupid decisions. However decisions that come from simply not knowing enough about the world can provide for some really interesting story and worldbuilding.

Examples:
Harry Potter from Harry Potter
Mort from Mort of the Discworld Series
Bilbo Baggins from The Hobbit

Check out what TV Tropes has to say about them.

Socially Awkward Hero

sousukeThis is the hero that I love mainly because I can often relate to this hero on a personal level. As someone who has serious anxiety interacting with people that are not in my inner circle, I enjoy seeing characters that struggle with interacting with others. Whether that is just a character that isn’t able to make jokes or references that other people understand or the character struggles to relating to people on a deeper level. There’s just something satisfying about seeing a character overcome that and still be successful.

Examples:
Colin from An Abundance of Katherines
Sousuke Sagara from Full Metal Panic!
David from The Reckoners series

Check out what TV Tropes has to say about them.

The Drifter

vashI’ve always had an affinity for the traveler or the drifter. The idea that this person moves from place to place never calling anywhere home has always just grabbed my attention. Seeing their adventures as they go from place to place can be enlightening as you get to see different places in the world. These characters also work for me when they just drift into someone else’s story imparting more worldly knowledge than the protagonist may be privy to.

Examples:
Kenshin from Ruroni Kenshin
Vash the Stampede from Trigun
Miyamoto Usagi from Usagi Yojimbo

Check out what TV Tropes has to say about them.

What are some of your favorite character tropes?

4 thoughts on “Favorite Character Tropes (Heroes) – Top 5 Wednesday

  1. Haha I love the tsundere, too. Though I’m not familiar with your examples, these are usually my favorite manga/anime characters, albeit, mostly in shoujo.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

