Favorite Maps – Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey. There is a goodreads group which allows the community to discuss the upcoming topics. If you interested, make sure you go check it out. Usually I put these lists on my youtube channel, but sometimes I put them on the blog. This is one of those weeks. If you want to check out some of my video lists here’s my Top 5 Wednesday playlist.

This week’s topic is maps, maps, glorious maps. If you don’t read much Science Fiction or Fantasy, you may not be quite as familiar with the wonderful maps that some of these stories produce. This is largely to give the reader a sense of the terrain, especially when the story is set in a sprawling locale. Maps make visualization easier. It helps you understand distances. In my case, they are just plain pretty to look at. Sometimes I will find myself flipping back to the map mid story, not to figure out some distances, but just because it is pretty.

Like I mentioned many Science Fiction and Fantasy stories have these maps. They are particularly common in these genres, but even then they are more exclusively seen in stories of an epic tale. Whether that is epic fantasy or a war torn Science Fiction. The maps I’ve shown below are all both beautiful and fascinating. I absolutely love maps and love to just stare and revel at them. That said, I don’t have much to say about each individual map as I would just be repeating how beautiful and intricate they are. No one wants to hear my repetition, so just take a look yourself at some of my favorites.

As always these are in no particular order. Though I will admit The Middle Earth Map is my absolute favorite.

This week I have a runner up that I didn’t want to leave out.

The Rithmatist

American Isles
The American Isles

On to the top 5 maps I’ve come across. Keep in mind I have not read all of these, but I do at least own the ones I haven’t.

Name of The Wind

Four Corners of Civilization
Four Corners of Civilization

An Ember in The Ashes

The Empire
The Empire

The Magicians

Fillory
FilloryFillory

A Song of Ice and Fire

Known World
A Song of Ice and Fire

The Lord of the Rings

Middle Earth
Middle Earth

What are your favorite maps?

One thought on “Favorite Maps – Top 5 Wednesday

  1. I really like The Fantasy World Map – thinking about what it would be like to visit it is a great way to lull myself to sleep at night – with a smile on my face. 🙂

Leave a Reply

