Tropes I Hate – Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey. There is a goodreads group which allows the community to discuss the upcoming topics. If you interested, make sure you go check it out. Usually I put these lists on my youtube channel, but sometimes I put them on the blog. This is one of those weeks. If you want to check out some of my video lists here’s my Top 5 Wednesday playlist.

Everyone loves a good post about things that are disliked. There’s something about human nature that gravitates toward the negative. While positivity is great, people seem to bond more strongly and quickly over the things that they dislike. It is a bizarre quirk about us humans, but it is what will make today’s post all so interesting. This week’s topic is after all Tropes that I Hate.

Again whenever I end up talking about tropes I inevitably get sucked into TVTropes where I can effectively lose hours of my life and that is not necessarily a good thing.

Without any further delay, let’s get into tropes that I hate. As always, this list is in no particular order.

There’s No Place Like Home

There are a few things in life that I can’t get down with. One of those are people who think they are better than others. Therefore their problems are more important. Or they are completely negligent in regard to others’ wants and needs. I’m not a big fan of these people in real life and when they pop up in fiction I get equally annoyed. The idea that one person’s goals trump everyone else’s bothers me. Yes, in some cases one goal may be more beneficial for a group as a whole, but I like real thought being put into such decisions.

Example:
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

Find out what TVTropes said about it.

The Blind Leading The Blind

I love a good story where someone has to learn new things about a world unfamiliar to them. What I don’t generally like is when someone just as ignorant about the world tries to pose as someone capable of helping the main character or characters. There’s something about someone posing as knowledgeable when they aren’t that always gets under my skin.

Example:
Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Find out what TVTropes said about it.

Stereotypical Racial Character

Okay, this kind kind of spread over a number of tropes depending on the character in question. I can not stand when a character is stereotypically anything. The sassy black character. The nerdy asian. Anything. They all get under my skin. No one likes to be generalized. I’m particularly touchy on this because not only does this happen in the books I read but in real life. While people can be awful and offhand, I can’t avoid that. However, in the books I read, someone spent time and effort to craft a story and put thought into the characters. So when I come across a stereotypical character, I get really annoyed.

Example:
All Racial Stereotypes

Find out what TVTropes said about it.

Miscommunication

The one trope that drives me up a wall no matter what. I have no sympathy for these situations. Often it is self-inflicted and causes more problems down the line. If characters could just open their mouths and speak and confront the things they need to even if they don’t want to that would be so much better. Also miscommunication is annoying because it is a source of lazy tension. Inevitably characters who chose to fall into the trap of miscommunication results in some sort of problem between characters or an unnecessary situation. While sometimes the problems are interesting, it’s annoying when they were avoidable.

Example:
None of the Above by I.W. Greggorio

Find out what TVTropes said about it.

Insta-Love

Burn it and make it die. I can not stand for Insta-love. I simply do not believe in it. Yes, there are times when you just meet someone and there is an instant click. Whether that is instantly feeling comfortable around someone else, whether that is having lustful thoughts, or even feeling instantly some sort of kinship. However, none of those things is love. They may make up parts of what comes to comprise love, but love takes some bit of time. It requires settling in to your feelings, which does not happen instantly. So when I see characters falling into this insta-love trope I get very annoyed. Just like I used to get annoyed in real life when we were kids and people immediately claimed love.

Example:
Too many for me to begin to list.

Find out what TVTropes said about it.

What tropes do you hate?

One thought on “Tropes I Hate – Top 5 Wednesday

  1. Yep. Agree with everything completely, but on this list, insta-love is the most annoying for me. Followed closely by racial stereotypes. Like, I don’t want people to go out of their way in a really obvious way to be different, and it’s okay to have smart Asians, but come on. Let’s not be lazy about these things!

Leave a Reply

