Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda  by Becky Albertalli
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
by Becky Albertalli
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wanted to love this. While I didn’t, I still really enjoyed it. There were a lot of great things going for it.

One of the biggest draws to this story is the mystery. You are reading all of these conversations between Simon and Blue and as Simon gets curious so do you. The emails give clues and little hints here and there. Yet, for the most part you are never given anything substantial. Considering that the only other characters you really get to know are mainly female it’s hard to place which of the guys in Simon’s school might be Blue. This mystery element is half of why I kept going on. Not only did I come to love Blue from the emails just like Simon, I had to know his real identity.

Then the secret drops and it’s brilliant. After so long trying to figure out who Blue was, I had come up with ideas. That is one of the great things about mysteries is that they engaging you in the book by driving you to try to figure it out too. Thus the reveal felt even more satisfying than just knowing who it was, but learning that I had guessed right. I barely had time to revel in my victory because I was then thrown into the final 30 pages drowned out by my squealing. All because that ending gave me life.

The fact that I finished the book with so many feels is saying something because I really didn’t love the book for the first hundred or so pages. I just didn’t instantly connect or care. I hadn’t had that moment and for a while I feared that I just wasn’t going to like the book much. That changed though as we saw some of the characters opening up more. As I got to know the characters, I started to care more.

Simon as a character is very well done. He felt like a real person in that he wasn’t all one thing. He was flawed. Numerous times through the story I felt sorry for him because of the position he was in being blackmailed. Yet, there were plenty of other times that I felt like Simon was being a total dick. Those moments were often immediately tempered with Simon opening up a bit. The point is, Simon was not all good and it was nice to see someone who felt like he could have been one of my friends back in high school.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

