Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella
Can You Keep a Secret?
by Sophie Kinsella
My rating: 2.75 of 5 stars

Man, I wanted to like this. The premise of this story just sounded so interesting. I’ve heard that Sophie Kinsella books were funny, so I was ready to jump on the train and enjoy. Unfortunately, nothing never clicked. I found a lot of the story rather depressing. It left me down or frustrated more than it left me laughing. Not to mention the love interest in this was in no way appealing.

The story is about a girl who I can’t even remember her name which is fitting considering that she’s supposed to be like the every girl. I quite liked her. She felt extremely relateable. She had motivation and was a bit ballsy, but she didn’t always know what she was doing. I wanted things to go well for her, but things were constantly falling apart in front of her. It broke my heart to see her suffering. Just as it looked like things were starting to look up, they would come crashing down. That is ultimately why this book drove me up a wall. I wanted her to win for once. Yet, I just kept seeing things get worse. it was definitely a case of one step forward and two steps back. And the tide really never changed.

Then there was the love interest, Jack. He’s American. I like that Kinsella didn’t harp on what could have seemed like differences because of nationality, but because of their station in life. The problem was Jack was distant. It was very much a part of his character, but after getting to know the MC so well, not knowing him had me constantly wondering why she liked him so much. I’m not going to say that he treated her poorly, though there were definitely inadvertent occasions in which he did. However, he never treated her well either. Most of the time we saw with him it felt more like he was gawking at her. He was constantly there throwing wrenches into her life. Some of the wrenches helped her life out in the long run, but a number of them just added to why I felt so bad for her. At the end of the day, every time Jack had page time he just felt like a blob of nothing until he started opening up. Yes, that was a huge plot device, but it kept me at a distance and, frankly, confused.

Her friends were rather interesting in a very adjacent way. Lissy was supportive and great to see that she had someone like that in her life. I’m not sure she would have made it without her. Then there was Jemima who was not quite right. She had all these rules and they played comically and for dramatic effect, but I just found her tedious and wanted her to go away. As for the other characters, Conno was absolutely pitiable. I think that was the point, but I really felt bad for the guy because he never did anything wrong. Her cousin/ sister was shallow and mean for no apparent reason. Her parents never seemed to ee her until she was hurting and the illusion of Kerry was shattered. Everyone of them served their purpose and felt believable.

Really the only reason that I’m giving this such a low score is because what it is supposed to be cs what I ended up feeling about it. It’s a romance and I didn’t like the romantic interest. It is a comedy and I found myself depressed way more than I found myself laughing.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

