The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
The Dream Thieves
by Maggie Stiefvater
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

I dove into The second book of The Raven Cycle having heard that this was their favorite book in the series. let’s be honest. I absolutely loved This book. Sure, there were things that still irked me, it was not perfect, but I really enjoyed this book. It this stemmed again, not from the plot, but because of how much I love the characters.

For a change, I’m going to talk about the thing I didn’t like in the book first rather than save it for later. This is largely, because other than the little things that irk me, there was only one big issue that I found in the book. This is largely tied to the plot, but I’ll hold off on lot related issues. My real issue was that this book lacked a sense of direction in the book. With novels, even when the plot is not the primary focus, there is a sense of progression or goal. You understand the journey that the characters are going to go through. The personal goals and struggles they will encounter. This book lacked that. I kept finding that I didn’t know where things were going for any of the characters (save Rowan). That left the characters feeling aimless and it was frustrating.

As I mentioned that is because the plot is not the main focus of the story. Yet again, The Dream Thieves is not about focusing on the plot. You can tell because the plot in the novel is rather thin and doesn’t progress much. Instead, there are a few beats that happen and we stick with just them. That said, it does progress the overall story a bit, but it just ins’t a whole lot.

Again the characters in this book were the real focus. Let’s be honest they are brilliant. Well, they already were, but the progression of the characters this time around cemented how much I love these characters. Those little moments when it was not related to anything going on that made things better. Adam advanced, spiraling and reaching terrible states. Gansey becomes more unsure and feeling more abandoned. Rowan struggling with himself and what he was capable of. Heck, even Noah who truly can only change but so much, became more bold and outgoing. It was refreshing to see more of these characters and seeing more of them in general.

I will say that the sense of being creeped out didn’t really strike me until the end of the book. Whereas the first book left me feeling constantly unsettled and panicked, this one didn’t. That was not to say there wasn’t mystery. The introduction of one of the characters led to some interesting interacts, but plenty of intrigue to keep me guessing and on my toes.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and it left me with great feelings. I wanted to know more immediately and that’s the kind of good feeling I want when I read a book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

