This Shattered World (Starbound Trilogy #2) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

This Shattered World (Starbound Trilogy #2) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
This Shattered World
by Amie Kaufman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This Shattered World felt like Romeo and Juliet in space. Let me start by saying I absolutely hate Romeo and Juliet. Thankfully, This Shattered World feels different enough with characters who are nearly as foolish that I managed to like this book. That said, the Romeo and Juliet elements were there. They were prominent. And if you don’t like that, there is a fairly good chance that you won’t like this book. That said, it tied well into the rest of the series.

I went into this book presuming that this is a companion series. After reading this, I don’t truly feel like this was a proper companion series. Yes, you could read this book without having ever read These Broken Stars, but there is a lot going on that happens within This Shattered World that I don’t know if you would fully imagine their depth. This is because a certain character from These Broken Stars makes and appearance. That appearance isn’t a small one either. It is a element of their story and that plays into the bigger issue what we are seeing throughout the series. So yes, these are different characters that we follow, but I would not recommend reading these out of order at all.

As for the story, like I mentioned, this is very much a Romeo and Juliet story. We have the military leader, in Jubilee, and her military people on one side. Then we have the natives of the world of which Flynn is the leader and happens to be a pacifist. Together the two of them learn not to hate each other. They start to see things from the other side. Then finally they begin to fall for each other. I was glad that their love story was not like the Romeo and Juliet. They had to earn their love. Not only that, but they had to learn to work together and that ended up feeling satisfying because it was not easy. Sure, it happened fast and sometimes they had to make leaps of faith, but it never felt irrational.

As for the romance between the pair, I enjoyed their balance. Again we are presented with another tough female that doesn’t necessarily need someone else to help her. Jubilee is the kind of girl who is going to figure out what she needs to do to survive. Flynn is very much the more dependent one, but that’s not to say he’s useless. The two of them ultimately play off each other very well. I like the way they challenge each other, yet Flynn is always there rooting her on. It’s an interesting dynamic they have. Even better is that I like these two characters a lot on their own.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Going in it took me a while to really come around to it. Ultimately, it was the characters that made me really enjoy the book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

