#BooktubeSFF Babbles: Shortlist Progress

I’m back again for another BooktubeSFF Babble. I’m really getting in to this stuff and there are some great topics so bear with me. This week’s topic is “Shortlist Progress” and eek. I’m not going to pretend that I am excellent at keeping up with this sort of thing. Generally I find a book or two I haven’t yet read, decide I want to read them and then only read one before an award is inevitably announced. This goes also for the Academy Awards. I’m just bad at putting aside everything else and focusing on a list. Thankfully, a number of the selections this time around I have already read. So let’s just get to my progress.

I’ve listed works I’ve read in blue and those I haven’t in red.

Best Novel

A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab
I’ve yet to read A Darker Shade of Magic. Go ahead and direct all your shame at me. I own it I just haven’t picked it up. I will before the awards. I hope so.
Uprooted by Naomi Novik
I read Uprooted and you can read the review here. I liked it. There were aspects that were fantastic. The writing was beautiful, but I still felt disconnected from the story. The plot connections were a bit loose and I didn’t enjoy the magic system.
The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin
I preordered this book. I was so ready for it. The sound of it was right up my alley. Yet it has been sitting on my shelf for months now. I’ve never done a buddy read, but if anyone would like to, I play on picking it up next week.
Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson
This one unfortunately I will not get to. It just will never happen. I am only 200 pages in to The Well of Ascension. There is no way I can possibly read through the rest of that series and start another to get to this one. Not happening.
Total completed: 1 of 4

Best Young Adult Novel

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
I liked Carry on. I certainly didn’t love it. I have a review of it if you’d like to read it. There were elements I like. Those that I didn’t. At the end of the day I have to admit I remember very little of it, except Baz. I loved Baz.
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Illuminae was one of my favorite books of last year. I love science fiction and this reminded me of Battlestar Galactica at times. It stole my heart. You can read my review.
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
This was another book I loved from last year. It was positively delightful in all the best morally complex ways. I think that’s why I loved it. There wasn’t a single character that wasn’t at least a little smarmy, dangerous, or untrustworthy. I enjoyed getting to know the characters. I reviewed this as well.
Total completed: 3 of 3 (Go me!)

Best Graphic Work

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
I most certainly did not love Nimona. I’m not going to say I hate it, but I certainly hated Nimona as a character. She wasn’t well fleshed out. Her motivations were nebulous and vengeful for no reason, yet she was played as if I was to love her. I did love Balistair. I reviewed that one too.
Descender, vol. 1: Tin Stars by Jeff Lemire and Danny Nguyen
I only heard about this one recently. Hopefully I will get a chance to pick it up, but no promises.
The Wicked + The Divine, vol 2: Fandimonium by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, and Matt Wilson
I read The Wicked and The Divine and instantly loved it. This is a love it or hate it and I love it. It’s about being lost and wanting a higher calling. It’s about gods in their truest states, callous and sel-serving. It’s interesting and I personally love it. Fandemonium stepped it up a notch and I loved it even more.
Saga, vol. 5 by Brian K Vaughn and Fiona Staples
I will probably be reamed for this. I don’t love Saga, I like it. However, basing this on vol 5, it just isn’t as good. The story meanders and is lost. It doesn’t seem to know what it is about any more. The past two volumes in fact have been quite a let down.
Total completed: 3 of 4

Best Short Work

Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
I haven’t read it or anything by her. I have no expectations. I hadn’t heard of the short until this award.
“Midnight Hour” by Mary Robinette Kowal
You know how with the previous entry I knew who the author was, that doesn’t go for this. I’ve never heard of any of it.
Perfect State by Brandon Sanderson
Now I have heard of Brandon Sanderson. I’ve read a few of his books. I just haven’t read this. If there is anything from the short works section that I get to, it will probably be this.
Total completed: 0 of 3

As you can see, while I’ve read a number of the entries, I still have a ways to go. Chances are I won’t get to them all, but I’m determined to read at least one more from the list. Any guesses on which that may be?

Leave a Reply

