Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
Nimona
by Noelle Stevenson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Everyone seemed to love Nimona, but I’m not one of them. Let’s be clear, I didn’t hate this. It didn’t make me angry or make me want to rage quit out of the story. I just didn’t really enjoy it much.

The titular character Nimona was more a nebulous being prone to fits of rage than anything else. We are given a few versions of her backstory to get an idea as to what is motivating her. Yet, even after those possibilities I still don’t get a sense other than that she’s been someone who has been abused in her past, however it came to be. I just didn’t get her. She wanted total destruction for reasons that were never really made clear.

You see Nimona is a shapeshifter with a particular affinity to sharks. Regardless, she can shift within a span of a second and become any living creature. A dragon? Sure. A bear? You got it. A little boy named Gregor? She can do that too. She’s almost limitless and I say almost because she can be stopped. At the end of the day, I found her power cool, but I didn’t get much of a sense of Nimona. And what I did see, I didn’t particularly like. She annoyed me more often than not and in the section where she mostly disappeared, I found myself enjoying the story more.

Then there was Ballister Blackheart. He, I could get down with. He’s a villain, but you learn quickly that he was forced into that role. It’s a role he doesn’t do particularly well. He doesn’t want to hurt people. Heck Ballister was where I got most of my amusement. His love for science was a nice touch.

Goldenloin was an interesting antagonist considering he is the traditional protagonist. He wasn’t as developed as I hoped, but I enjoyed the turns that his character took. The relationship he had with Blackheart was perfect. I just we got to see more of it.

My one other big problem was the world. I never got a clear sense of the world. These people lived in these little villages. Som people dress like they are from this olden period. Others dress modernly. There is tech all over. Yet then they go to some old style town. It just never made sense to me and the world just didn’t feel real or cohesive to the point it was distracting to me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

